by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (Apr. 14, 2019) – After 204 games and 2,524 goals the Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) 2018-2019 Regular Season concluded with Sunday night’s Monterrey Flash victory over the Ontario Fury. The Flash win eliminated the Fury and locked in the final playoff spot for the Tacoma Stars.

The Ron Newman Cup Playoff season begins on Thursday in Kansas City as the Comets host the Milwaukee Wave in the opening game of the South Central Division Championships. This is the eighth playoff meeting between these two teams in the past nine years.

The Southwest and Pacific Divisions begin on Friday night as the RGV Barracudas host the Monterrey Flash and the Tacoma Stars host Landon Donovan and the San Diego Sockers.

The Eastern Division regular season champion Utica City FC travel to open their series against the Baltimore Blast on Saturday afternoon, one of three games that day.

The Divisional Championship round of the Ron Newman Cup Playoffs feature a home-and-home series between the two teams. If the series is tied after two games, a 15-minute Mini Game is played immediately after Game Two to decide the winner.

The full opening round playoff schedule is below. All games are scheduled to be shown LIVE on Eleven Sports and Eleven Sports NEXT.

GAME ONE – Saturday, April 20, 6:00pm at SECU Arena
GAME TWO – Monday, April 22, 6:30pm at Adirondack Bank Center

GAME ONE – Friday, April 19, 10:30pm at accesso ShoWare Center
GAME TWO – Saturday, April 20, 10:00pm at Pechanga Arena San Diego

GAME ONE – Friday, April 19, 8:00pm at State Farm Arena
GAME TWO – Sunday, April 21, 8:00pm at Arena Monterrey

GAME ONE – Thursday, April 18, 8:30pm at Silverstein Eye Centers Arena
GAME TWO – Saturday, April 20, 2:00pm at UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena