MASL Week 4 Team of the Week

by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (Dec. 26, 2018) –The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) Week Four Team of the Week was announced this morning.

Players named to the Team of the Week will be eligible for the Week Three Player of the Week award. The Player of the Week is voted on by a combination of fans and the member teams of the MASL.


Danny Waltman (Tacoma Stars) – Danny Waltman’s Tacoma Stars sit atop the Pacific Division standings thanks in no small part to his play in the nets. Waltman helped to lead his in two games over the weekend with some amazing saves and a .846 save percentage against San Diego, stopping all but 4 of the 26 shots he faced. Then the next day he stopped another 16 shots from the Ontario Fury for a 2-0 Stars weekend


Adam West (Tacoma Stars) – Adam West led his entire team in scoring over the Stars two-game weekend. He scored two goals in each contest and kept the stars undefeated in both games.
Miguel Vaca (Monterrey Flash) – Vaca started the scoring in one of the most exciting matches of the weekend, getting the Flash on the board in the 1st quarter. He then added an assist later in the half and followed that up with some clutch defending to help his team in their overtime win.


Gordy Gurson (Orlando SeaWolves) – Gurson and the SeaWolves took care of business in their first match against the visiting Mississauga MetroStars. Gurson pitched in two goals and added two assists.


Zach Reget (St Louis Ambush) – Reget’s Ambush have a winning record against their cross-state rivals for the first time in modern team history. As the Comets tried to battle back into the game, Reget scored two goals to keep his side ahead and find their second straight win.

Franck Tayou (Monterrey Flash) – The reigning MASL MVP may have a new home, but he’s still doing MVP things. Against the RGV Barracudas, Tayou was calm and collected as he led his side to an overtime victory with two goals along the way.


Guilherme Dos Santos (Florida Tropics), John Sosa (Kansas City Comets), Gustavo Rosales (RGV Barracudas), Damion Graham (Mississauga MetroStars), Paulo Nascimento (St Louis Ambush), Boris Pardo (San Diego Sockers), Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave), Jonathan Mendoza (Orlando SeaWolves), Kraig Chiles (San Diego Sockers), Chris Toth (Ontario Fury), Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave), Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave), Hugo Silva (Florida Tropics). Lucas Rodriguez (Kansas City Comets), JT Thomas (St Louis Ambush), Moises Gonzalez (RGV Barracudas), Leonardo De Oliveira (San Diego Sockers), Luis Saúl Ramírez (RGV Barracudas)