by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (January 23, 2018) –The Major Arena Soccer League announced today that the following players were named to the Team of the Week for Week 13

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  

Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave) – The Milwaukee Wave split the weekend’s two games. Lemos kept his team in the game until the very end on Thursday, posting a .714 save percentage along the way. Then on Saturday, Lemos put on a show and produced only the second shutout this season.

Adriano Dos Santos (Baltimore Blast) – Dos Santos helped the Blast to a 2-0 weekend at home. On Friday the veteran defender chipped in with three assists, then added two more and two goals.

Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave) – Bennett continued his career season over the weekend. He tallied six points overall with a goal on Thursday against the Rampage, then four goals and an assist on Saturday against the Silver Knights.
Juan Carlos Gonzalez (Ontario Fury) – Gonzalez had a five-point weekend. He tallied two goals and two assists as the Fury defeated conference rival San Diego Sockers on Thursday, then added another assist on Sunday as the teams met again.

Joey Tavernese (Syracuse Silver Knights) – The Silver Knights played a rare three-game road trip over the past weekend. With Tavernese’s leadership, the team was able to get wins in two of the games. He led the way in both wins with four goals and three assists in two games against the Ambush.
Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – The reigning MASL MVP makes his third straight appearance on the Team of the Week and his sixth overall. Tayou scored a goal in the team’s win against RGV on Wednesday, then he led the way with three goals and assist in the overtime win against the Sockers on Saturday.

Andrew Coughlin (Syracuse Silver Knights), Rainer Hauss (Cedar Rapids Rampage), Eduardo Arevalo (El Paso Coyotes), Pat Healey (Baltimore Blast), Darren Toby (Syracuse Silver Knights), Damian Garcia (Monterrey Flash), Enrique Canez (Soles de Sonora), Adrien Perez (Ontario Fury), Moises Gonzalez (RGV Barracudas), Vinicius Dantas (Baltimore Blast), Nick Perera (Tacoma Stars)