by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (Feb. 21, 2017) – As the regular season winds down, the action is heating up in the Major Arena Soccer League. These players are working hard to make sure their season ends on a hot streak.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.

Bryan O’Quinn (Syracuse Silver Knights)
– The transition from the bench to the field has been successful for Bryan O’Quinn and the Silver Knights. He held the Baltimore Blast to only two goals in a game that Syracuse absolutely needed to win in order to keep their playoff hopes alive.

Joshio Sandoval (Cedar Rapids Rampage)
– After the Cedar Rapids Rampage fell behind early to the Chicago Mustangs, Joshio Sandoval rallied his team and scored a goal and an assist on the way to a come-from-behind victory.

Christian Gutierrez (Atletico Baja)
– Christian Gutierrez scored three goals against the El Paso Coyotes on Sunday night. Along the way he set the record for most goals scored in a season by a Mexican player.
Kenardo Forbes (Syracuse Silver Knights) – While O’Quinn was doing his part defensively, Forbes picked up the team offensively. He scored two goals and two assists in the win.

Slavisa Ubiparapovic (Syracuse Silver Knights)
– With an extremely tight race for playoff positioning in the Eastern Division, Slavisa Ubiparapovic helped to keep the Syracuse Silver Knights alive. In two games against the Baltimore Blast, he scored four goals and two assists.
Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – With the Southwest Division regular season title in hand, Franck Tayou and Soles de Sonora are not letting up. In a big win over the Dallas Sidekicks Tayou only needed five shots to score five goals.

Honorable Mention:
Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave), Hugo Silva (Harrisburg Heat), Elton de Oliveira (Baltimore Blast), Robert Palmer (Kansas City Comets), John Sosa (Kansas City Comets), Adriano Dos Santos (Baltimore Blast), Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave), Christian Segura (Soles de Sonora), Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave), Ivan Campos (Turlock Express), Leonardo De Oliveira (Ontario Fury), Tony Donatelli (Baltimore Blast)