KANSAS CITY (MARCH 7, 2018) – The Major Arena Soccer League announced today that the following players were named to the Team of the Week for Week 19.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  

Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers) – The San Diego Sockers goalkeepers have made a combined seven appearances on the MASL Team of the Week this season, with Toth now making his fifth appearance. Against the El Paso Coyotes, Toth earned a week’s best .813 save percentage by making 13 saves and only allowing 3 goals.

Uzi Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – Uzi Tayou makes his first appearance on the Team of the Week by helping his team to victory in their final warm-up before the playoffs. Tayou scored a goal and an assist as Soles finished their regular season with a win over their Mexican rivals.

Raphael Cox (Tacoma Stars) – The Tacoma Stars did not need to win on Friday against the Kansas City Comets to secure their postseason berth, but that didn’t seem to matter to Raphael Cox. The veteran midfielder scored twice in the second half to help send the game into overtime, then only needed a minute of the extra period to finish his hat trick and secure the win.
Brandon Escoto (San Diego Sockers) – The San Diego Sockers, who had long-ago clinched their postseason position, hosted the El Paso Coyotes, winners of four of their last five games, on Saturday. Brandon Escoto scored a goal and two assists as he and his Sockers looked to already be in playoff form.

Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – Tayou set a new single-season scoring record (71) with four goals against the Monterrey Flash. He added two assists as well to finish the night with six points.
Kraig Chiles (San Diego Sockers) – The Sockers legend showed he is ready for the postseason to begin. In two games Chiles scored four goals and two assists.

Andrew Coughlin (Syracuse Silver Knights), Mark Saxby (Kansas City Comets), Raymundo Contreras (San Diego Sockers), Bryan Perez (Kansas City Comets), Christian Gutierrez (El Paso Coyotes), Matt Clare (San Diego Sockers), Leo Gibson (Kansas City Comets), Bo Jelovac (Syracuse Silver Knights), Nick Perera (Tacoma Stars)