by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (January 30, 2018) –The Major Arena Soccer League announced today that the following players were named to the Team of the Week for Week 14.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  


Boris Pardo (San Diego Sockers) – Pardo has split time evenly with Chris Toth this season and has made every minute on the field count. On Friday he posted a .900 save percentage as he led the Sockers to victory on the road in Turlock. He nearly was able to earn his first shutout of the season, keeping the Express scoreless until the final five minutes of the game.


Manuel Aragon (Soles de Sonora) – Sonora won both of their matches this weekend, beating Ontario on Friday, then returning home to defeat the Stars on Saturday. Aragon helped Soles to hold off their opponent and also tallied three goals on the weekend.

Maicon de Abreu (Ontario Fury) – de Abreu helped the Fury nearly complete their comeback against Soles last Thursday. He provided the assist to get the Fury within a goal, then scored the equalizer late in the game to briefly tie it up at 4-4.


Tony Donatelli (Baltimore Blast) – The Baltimore Blast continue their dominance in the Eastern Division. This weekend Donatelli scored two goals on the road in the team’s win against the Harrisburg Heat.


Joey Tavernese (Syracuse Silver Knights) – Tavernese earns a spot on the Team of the Week for the second straight time. This week he helped his side to a big division win against the Florida Tropics. He scored in the first quarter to break a 1-1 stalemate between the teams, then provided assists on two other goals as the Silver Knights held on for a 9-5 victory.

Omar Santillan (Monterrey Flash) – The Monterrey Flash had their hands full against the San Diego Sockers on Sunday, but kept their unbeaten record intact, thanks to Santillan. The Flash’s forward outpaced the Sockers by himself, scoring four goals while San Diego only managed three.


 Diego Reynoso (Monterrey Flash), Joey Kapinos (Baltimore Blast), Luiz Mota (RGV Barracudas), Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave), Hiram Ruiz (San Diego Sockers), Liam Callahan (Syracuse Silver Knights), Ricardo De Queiroz Diegues (Florida Tropics), Lucas Almeida (St Louis Ambush), Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora), Leo Gibson (Kansas City Comets), Edgar Flores (Monterrey Flash), Elmo Neto (Harrisburg Heat)