by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (FEBRUARY 27, 2018) –The Major Arena Soccer League announced today that the following players were named to the Team of the Week for Week 18.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  


Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers) – Chris Toth has helped the San Diego Sockers to their second straight Pacific Division title. He showed no signs of letting up either, only allowing three goals to the RGV Barracudas.


Marco Nascimento (Baltimore Blast) – Nascimento helped the Baltimore Blast to a series victory against their rival Milwaukee Wave. He scored a goal and an assist and helped to shut down the Wave’s high-scoring attack when they tried to mount a furious comeback in the fourth quarter.


Jamael Cox (Tacoma Stars) – The Tacoma Stars were playing for their playoff lives in Week Eighteen. The Stars needed a win to shift the momentum to their side and give themselves an opportunity to control their own playoff destiny. Cox scored three goals to help his team do just that in their 8-6 win over the Ontario Fury.

Ricardo Carvalho (Harrisburg Heat) -  Ricardo Carvalho finished his season on a high note. He scored two goals in each of the Heat’s two games and added five assists on the weekend.


Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave) – Max Ferdinand helped the Milwaukee Wave to split the weekend’s two games. He scored a goal and an assist on Friday against the Baltimore Blast. Then on Sunday, he added two more goals and assisted on the game-winning goal in overtime.

Kraig Chiles (San Diego Sockers) – Kraig Chiles’ scoring ability in San Diego has long-earned him a reputation as one of the MASL’s elite forwards. On Saturday against the RGV Barracudas he scored two goals to his team’s tally, but also contributed five assists.


 Joey Kapinos (Baltimore Blast), Cory Keitz (Tacoma Stars), Pat Healey (Baltimore Blast), Gustavo Rosales (Soles de Sonora), Jonatas Melo (Baltimore Blast), Edgar Flores (Monterrey Flash), Gordy Gurson (Cedar Rapids Rampage), Matt Clare (San Diego Sockers), Andrew Hoxie (Baltimore Blast), Mauricio Salles (Florida Tropics), Juan Pereira (Baltimore Blast), Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora), Freddy Moojen (Florida Tropics), Leo Gibson (Kansas City Comets)