by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (December 19, 2017) – Week Eight was the Major Arena Soccer League’s busiest weekend to date with 14 games. The action was fast and furious all weekend, and through it all these players were selected as the week’s best.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  

Fans can vote for Week 8 Player of the Week here


Jose Miranda (Ontario Fury) – Miranda helped the Fury to a big win over the RGV Barracudas. The stingy goalkeeper only allowed two goals on twelve shots (.833 save percentage) as the Fury won 9-2.


Lucio Gonzaga (Harrisburg Heat) – The Heat had back-to-back games this weekend with ten goals scored between them. Gonzaga accounted for a third of those, with two goals on Friday and one on Saturday.


Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave) – The Milwaukee Wave remain one of the MASL’s two unbeaten teams and Bennett is a big reason why. Against division rival St Louis, Bennett stepped up with 5 goals and three assists.

Erick Tovar (San Diego Sockers) – The San Diego Sockers are the MASL’s other undefeated team. Tovar is just the latest San Diego player to step up in a big way. On Sunday night he scored his first hat trick of the season against Turlock.   


Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – Last season’s MVP continues to roll for Sonora. Playing a two-game series in Tacoma, Tayou delivered six goals to help his team split the weekend.

Joey Tavernese (Syracuse Silver Knights) – It may still be early in the season but every game is important within the Eastern Division. Tavernese led the way for the Silver Knights with 3 goals and an assist as they went into Harrisburg and came out with big 8-5 win.


 Hugo Silva (Harrisburg Heat), Cory Keitz (Tacoma Stars), Andre Braithwaite (Kansas City Comets), Clayton Matheus (St Louis Ambush), Taylor Walter Bond (Cedar Rapids Rampage), Anthony Medina (San Diego Sockers), Edgar González (Monterrey Flash)