by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (December 27, 2017) – The Holiday Weekend featured only four games, but there was no shortage of action. These six players definitely earned their way onto the ‘Nice’ list with their performance.

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  


Rainer Hauss (Cedar Rapids Rampage) – Thrust into his first start, Hauss was ready for action. Facing 16 shots from the Ambush, Hauss made 14 saves and controlled his backline for the Rampage’s sixth win in their last seven games.


Adrian Miller (Soles de Sonora) – The Coyotes and Soles traded goals back and forth throughout the first three quarters. Early in the final quarter, Miller set up a score that started a six-goal run for Sonora. At the same time, Miller locked down the Soles’ defense, helping them to pull away for the victory.


Marcio Leite (Milwaukee Wave) – Leite scored the opening goal of the game against Kansas City and never looked back. He helped the team pull away for a big lead, then hold on as the Comets mounted their fourth quarter rally.

Jorge Rios (El Paso Coyotes) –The Coyotes might be the MASL’s most improved team over last season. Although they lost, Rios did everything he could to keep the Coyotes in the game with four goals against Sonora.   


Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora) – This is the second straight week (and third time overall) that Tayou has made the Team of the Week. After scoring six goals in two games last week, Tayou helped Sonora get the win over their division rivals with five goals in one game.

Ricardo De Queiroz Diegues (Florida Tropics) – After falling behind 2-0, Diegues got the Tropics rolling. He scored the team’s first goal and then assisted on three more as Florida pulled away from the Heat for the win.


 Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave), Sam Guernsey (Cedar Rapids Rampage), Drew Ruggles (Milwaukee Wave), Lucio Gonzaga (Harrisburg Heat), Bobby Hurwitz (Cedar Rapids Rampage)