MASL Team of the Week - Week 7

by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (December 12, 2017) – As we roll closer to the holiday season, the Major Arena Soccer League action is just starting to heat up. Congratulations to all of the players selected to this week’s MASL Team of the Week

The MASL Team of the Week is selected using the Stars awarded at each game and by soliciting nominations from each team. Players nominated by teams were each awarded three points and stars were awarded 3 points (1st Star), 2 points (2nd star) and 1 Point (3rd star) respectively.  

William Vanzela (Baltimore Blast) – William Vanzela has always been known for being one of the MASL’s top goalkeepers. On Sunday, he proved why. Facing 14 shots, he saved all but one of them to post a .929 Save Percentage, and more importantly, help his team to a 10-1 win at home.  

Joshio Sandoval (Cedar Rapids Rampage) – The Rampage shut out Kansas City in the second half of their game Saturday and Sandoval added two goals to help Cedar Rapids to a 2-0 record against their Central Division rivals

Tony Donatelli (Baltimore Blast) – While Vanzela was keeping the Tropics at bay, Donatelli was lighting up the scoreboard. He had a 5 point night (2 goals, 3 assists) as he led all scorers in the match.

Hugo Puentes (El Paso Coyotes) – Hugo Puentes led the way for El Paso as the team has now won three of their past four matches. Puentes tallied three goals and an assist in the Coyotes’ second road win of the season.  

Andre Hayne (Milwaukee Wave) – Hayne set the arena soccer world on fire with his bicycle kick goal that tied up the game for the Wave against St. Louis on Friday night. He then followed that up with another goal and an assist the next night as the Wave remain undefeated.

Erick Flores (Monterrey Flash) – The Monterrey Flash took care of business in their 2-game road trip to Harrisburg last weekend. Flores led all scorers on Sunday with three goals and an assist in the win.

Josh Lemos (Milwaukee Wave), Jesus Molina (El Paso Coyotes), Pat Healey (Baltimore Blast), Hector Vallejo (Monterrey Flash), Martyn Arista (Turlock Express), Jamael Cox (Tacoma Stars), Robert Renaud (Milwaukee Wave), Leo Gibson (Kansas City Comets), Chile Farias (Monterrey Flash), Edgar González (Monterrey Flash), Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave)