by Jeff Husted

MILWAUKEE, Wisconsin (May 2, 2019) – In preparation for the Ron Newman Cup Championship Game on Sunday, the Major Arena Soccer League announced today the league’s top referees for the 2018-2019 season, as voted on by MASL teams and fellow referees. The MASL Referees of the Year, Ryan Cigich and Shane Butler have also been assigned to the Championship Game on Sunday.

Cigich, the MASL head of officials will be working his 6th Championship in his 20th season as a referee in professional arena soccer. This will also be Butler’s 6th Championship appearance, the former FIFA Futsal Referee is in his 16th season of professional arena soccer.

In addition to Cigich and Butler, the MASL would like to recognize the 2nd Team Referee Crew of Rich Grady and Kyle Trimble and the 3rd Team crew of Brian Miller and Manuel Ortiz, Jr. New for this year, the MASL awarded Newcomer of the Year to Arturro Ibarra.

The 2019 Ron Newman Cup Championship between the Milwaukee Wave and Monterrey Flash will kick off Sunday, May 5 at 5:05 p.m. CT from UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena. Fans can watch the game live on Eleven Sports and Eleven Sports NEXT. Check out and to see where you can find Eleven Sports in your area.