by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (March 14, 2018) – One day ahead of the Conference Final Weekend, the Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) announced the 1st Team All-MASL for the 2017-2018 regular season. Earlier this week, the MASL announced the All-Rookie and Rookie Honorable Mentions as well as 2nd Team, 3rd Team and Honorable Mention All-MASL Teams.

Including San Diego Sockers’ goalkeeper Chris Toth, four players return from last year’s 1st Team selections. 2016-2017 MVP, Franck Tayou, headlines the group, while the Milwaukee Wave have two players represented on this year’s Best VI (Ian Bennett and Max Ferdinand). Pat Healey makes the selection to the MASL’s top team for the first time since 2014-2015 and rounding out the group is St. Louis Ambush defender Robert Acosta, who makes his first career All-MASL team.

Each team in the MASL was invited to submit a vote from their General Manager or Head Coach for the MASL post-season awards.  

The MASL will hold a press conference prior to the Ron Newman Cup Championship to announce the winners for MASL MVP, Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

MASL 1st Team All-MASL
GK - Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers)
D -  Pat Healey (Baltimore Blast)
D - Robert Acosta (St Louis Ambush)
M - Ian Bennett (Milwaukee Wave)
F - Max Ferdinand (Milwaukee Wave)
F - Franck Tayou (Soles de Sonora)