by Jeff Husted

The fourth MASL season opens on October 27th

KANSAS CITY (September 26, 2017) – The Tacoma Stars and Milwaukee Wave will kick off the fourth Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) season on October 27, 2017 in Tacoma’s accesso ShoWare Center at 10:35 p.m. ET. That is just the first of the 176 regular season games between October and March, as the MASL announced the full 2017-2018 regular season schedule today.

The 2017 MASL Championship MVP Vini Dantas and the Baltimore Blast will open their championship defense in Week 3 on Friday, November 10th against the Cedar Rapids Rampage and their new scoring duo of Gordy Gurson and Taylor Bond at 7:35 p.m. ET. For the first time in many years, the Blast will open their season in a new home, SECU Arena on the campus of Towson University.

Last season’s runners-up, Soles de Sonora, will open their schedule in Week 4 when captain Roberto Escalante leads his team onto the field to host former teammates Diego Reynoso, Damian Garcia and the Monterrey Flash at Centro de Usos Multiples on November 16th at 10:35 p.m. ET. Sonora was the home to the Championship Finale each of the past two seasons.

The Monterrey Flash will make their return to the MASL at home in Week 2. They will host the Florida Tropics at Arena Monterrey on November 5th at 6:05 p.m. ET. One of last year’s most exciting new teams, the Tropics have added several new pieces to their lineup this season, including the scoring power of Mauricio Salles

The RGV Barracudas will make their return to the MASL in the league’s Opening Weekend against the El Paso Coyotes on October 28th at 9:05 p.m. ET in El Paso County Coliseum. They will make their home debut at State Farm Arena on November 4th at 8:05 p.m. ET.

The Central Division, one of last season’s toughest, will set the tone early, with 15 of their 24 games within the division played before the New Year. The Kansas City Comets, winners of the division each of the past three years, open their season in Week 2 at home in the Silverstein Eye Centers Arena on November 4th at 8:05 p.m. ET as Hewerton makes his St. Louis coaching debut.

Each of the 16 teams in the MASL will play twenty-two games this season, eleven at home and eleven on the road. The 2017-2018 schedule is the most balanced schedule to date for the MASL. Each team will play 12 games within their division, six games against the other division in their conference and most will play two games against each division in their rival conference.

“Last season our fans saw some great matchups and exciting games that fed into one of the most exciting playoff tournaments in recent memory. This schedule could be even better,” said commissioner Joshua Schaub. “Each team’s games within their division have always been important, but now this balanced schedule puts even more importance on games across the divisions and conferences.”

The MASL’s playoff format will feature the top two teams in each division in a Division Playoff. The Division Playoff will be a two game, home and home series. Game 3 (mini-game) if necessary following Game 2. The Conference Championship will be one game hosted by the team with best regular season record. For the first time, the MASL Championship will also be a one game playoff hosted by the team with the best regular season record.

 For the full MASL schedule, click here