by Oscar Sanchez

MONTERREY, Nuevo León.- The Monterrey Flash reached an agreement with Juninho, Walter Ayoví and Israel Jiménez to join the team for the 2022-2023 Season of the Major Arena Soccer League.

Juninho and Jiménez were part of the "Golden Decade" of the UANL Tigres, in which the “auriazul” team won five Liga MX titles, while Ayoví was part of the Rayados de Monterrey squad that won 2 Liga MX titles and 3 of CONCACAF.

“Version 2.0 of the Flash is taking shape and heading in the right direction, these stars will bring experience and balance on and off the field”, said Gerardo Guerra, president of the team, “they have already been champions with their teams in the First Division (Liga MX), we have faith that they also can be crowned in indoor soccer with us”.

These three players sign for the entire tournament and will participate in both home and away matches.

Juninho, a Brazilian defender, was the captain of Tigres when Lucas Lobos left and until the end of his career in soccer. He achieved 4 league championships and one Cup championship, in addition to the fact that with 32 goals scored, he is the defender with the most goals in the history of the UANL team.

The "Pilot" Jiménez is considered one of the most successful Monterrey soccer players of all time, since in addition to the 5 leagues and the Cup that he won with Tigres, he was a key piece for Mexico to obtain its maximum achievement in soccer: the Gold Medal  at the 2012 London Olympics. Juninho and Israel were also runners-up in the 2015 Copa Libertadores.

Meanwhile Ayoví is another emblematic player, but from the other team in the City, the Rayados de Monterrey, with whom the also star of the Ecuadorian National Team, had great seasons. Walter played the Club World Cup with Rayados and the FIFA World Cup with his country's national team.

Coach Mariano Bollella will decide in which positions he places them according to their conditions, since in indoor soccer they could have a different facet than the one they played in 11-a-side football.

The three reinforcements join the list of former Liga MX players who have joined the Flash to participate in full seasons, such as Víctor Santibáñez, Jesús Arellano, Guillermo Franco, Lucas Ayala, Juan De Dios Ibarra and Claudio Núñez, among others. The idols Humberto Suazo and Walter Gaitán also defended the Flash jersey, but only for a few games.

The three new elements are expected to start the preseason with the rest of the squad.