Flash and Tropics Named Regular Season Champions

by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (July 1, 2020) – The Major Arena Soccer League’s (MASL) Board of Directors voted on Tuesday to officially conclude the 2019-2020 season and recognize the Monterrey Flash and Florida Tropics respectively as Western and Eastern Conference Regular Season Champions. 

The 2019-2020 season was cut short on March 12, 2020 due to the COVID-19 crisis. Prior to that, the Flash and Tropics had dominated their schedules and raced to the top of their conference tables.  

This is the third straight season the Monterrey Flash have finished at the top of the Western Conference. Led by 2nd Team All-MASL Forward Brayan Aguilar, the Flash close out the 2019-2020 season with a 20-2 overall record, including 11 wins at home.  

The Florida Tropics were the MASL’s busiest team prior to the 2019 Opening Day. They signed 12 new players to their roster as they built towards a championship run. Ricardo Carvalho led the way offensively while Drew Ruggles helped to shut down their opponents and earn himself the 2020 Defender of the Year award.  

With each team leading their conference from opening day to the unexpected end to the season, the MASL’s Board of Directors felt it was important to recognize their achievements even though the Ron Newman Cup playoffs would not be held this season.