2024 MASL Statistical Award Winners

The Major Arena Soccer League announced the winners of the four regular season awards today: Pass Master, Golden Boot, Scoring Champion, and the MASL Shield


Jhon Ponce of the Monterrey Flash earned the Pass Master award for most assists in the MASL’s regular season. Ponce had 25 assists in 22 games for the Flash, for an average of 1.14 assists per game for the midfielder. For the fifth-year player from Mexico City, he notched a career high in assists, as well as points with 31.


Zach Reget of the Kansas City Comets and Marco Fabián of the Empire Strykers share the Golden Boot award for the most goals in the MASL’s regular season.      

Reget scored 35 goals in 22 games, including five game winning goals, tied for the most in the MASL. The 2018-19 MASL Rookie of the Year had career marks in goals and points (48) this season, as well as earning a call-up to the United States National Futsal Team in February.                  

Coming off a successful outdoor career, Marco Fabián took over the indoor world by storm, scoring 35 goals in 21 games with the Strykers. Fabián also finished the regular season with 47 points, a team-high. 

Luis Genaro Castillo of the Monterrey Flash earned the Scoring Champion award for the most points in the MASL’s regular season. In his second season in the MASL, Castillo scored 32 goals and added 18 assists, good enough for 50 points, all career highs. The former Tigres UANL midfielder led the undefeated Monterrey Flash in both goals and points en route to an undefeated regular season and the MASL Shield.                                                        

The Monterrey Flash claimed the 2023-24 MASL Shield, awarded to the MASL team with the most standings points in the regular season. The Flash finished the regular season with a perfect 24-0 record, securing 69 points out of a possible 72 and taking home the #1 seed in the East. The Flash’s Eastern Conference regular season title was the fifth in franchise history, previously achieving this honor in the 2014-15, 2017-18, 2018-19, and 2019-20 seasons. The Flash are the second team since the inception of the MASL Shield in 2021-22 to take home the honors. The San Diego Sockers took home the Shield in 2021-22 and 2022-23.                                                                                    

The winners of the remaining awards: MASL MVP, Defensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Coach of the Year, and the MASL’s Elite 6 and Second Team, will be announced at a later date. Stay tuned to maslsoccer.com and the MASL social media channels for more information