by Lindsay Durham

The Major Arena Soccer League is proud to announce the winners of the Gino D'Ippolito Referee of the Year Award and the Ron Cory Newcomer Referee of the Year Award.

Kyle Trimble was voted by his peers as the Gino D’Ippolito Referee of the Year Award for the second consecutive year. The award honors its namesake by being given to the referee each year who embodies the excellence and leadership on the field that Gino did.

Kyle began his MASL career as a goalkeeper. After retirement he joined the ranks of the officials crew and since the 2010-11 season has refereed 164 games.

“Kyle has an exceptional understanding and “feel” for the indoor game and his calm demeanor along with his communication skills with the players and coaches is superb,” said Ryan Cigich, MASL Head of Officials. “Kyle was without a doubt the top performing and most consistent referee this season!”

In honor of Ron Cory’s over three=decade contributions to the game, the Newcomer Referee of the Year was introduced last season to honor a referee who has shown tremendous growth and development throughout the season. Throughout his career Ron was very instrumental in working with new referees and helping them to learn and develop. 

This season the award is given to Drew Klemp. The Kansas City native grew up attending Attack and Comets games and has been an off-field official in the MASL for the last four years. Klemp has also refereed the MASL2 Final on the floor the last two years. Drew is also a National Referee for US Soccer and referees at the outdoor professional and NCAA levels. 

“There is no one more conscientious and a bigger student of the indoor game than Drew,“ said Cigich.”I’m proud to be able to award this honor to Klemp and look forward to watching his continued career growth within the MASL.”

The awards will be presented by Commissioner Keith Tozer and Cigich at Game One of the Ron Newman Cup Finals this Sunday at Cable Dahmer Arena.